NEW MEXICO INSTITUTE OF MINING AND TECHNOLOGY

FACULTY SENATE MEETING Thursday, May 6, 2021 3:00 p.m. Minutes

1. Call to order

Chair Mike Hargather called the meeting to order at 3:01 pm.

2. Approval of Degrees

Dr. Anwar Hossain moved to approve the list of graduating students, seconded by Dr. Brian Borchers. Motion passed unanimously.

action

action

Dr. Sonnenfeld moved that additional students that just need an FE exam signed off by Heather today will be added to this list, seconded by Dr. Corey Leclerc. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Selection of Graduation Awards

a. Brown Award

The Brown Award is named in honor of C. T. Brown, who was for many years a member of the NM Tech Board of Regents. The award is given to that person graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree who is judged by the faculty to be highest in scholarship, conduct, and leadership. In addition to a plaque, the award consists of a \$1,000 prize.

Motion was moved to approved that all students that were nominated would receive a letter. Motion passed with two abstentions.

b. Cramer Award

This award was established to honor Tom Cramer, an engineer and a member of the NM Tech Board of Regents for 26 years. It is awarded to the top two seniors graduating in engineering who rank highest in scholarship. The awards consist of citations and \$400 prizes. The recipients are chosen by the Faculty Senate upon recommendation of the engineering faculty.

Dr. Leclerc moved to approve the award nominees, seconded by Dr. Rene Arechiga. Motion passed.

c. Langmuir Award

The Langmuir Award for Excellence in Research is given for an outstanding scientific research paper by any student or graduate of New Mexico Tech. The paper must have been submitted to or published by a recognized journal during the preceding year. The recipient is selected by the Faculty Senate's Honorary Degrees

and Awards Committee. The award is named in honor of Irving Langmuir (Nobel Laureate, 1932) who conducted extensive research with NM Tech staff. The award consists of a plaque and a \$400 cash prize.

Dr. Sonnenfeld moved to approve the award nominees, seconded by Dr. Liebrock. Motion passed.

d. Founders Award

A Founders' Award was created to honor the persons responsible for establishing the New Mexico School of Mines in Socorro in 1889, especially J. J. Baca and Ethan Eaton. The award is presented to the recipient of an advanced degree who has made an outstanding contribution to NM Tech through scholarship, research, and involvement in campus affairs. The recipient is chosen by faculty nomination and Faculty Senate election. The award consists of a plaque and a \$800 cash prize.

e. Dr. Wells stated that this year is different and we have two commencements this year. Dr. Wells would like to reach out to these students before the ceremony to encourage them to attend if they have not already.

Dr. Wells moved to approve reaching out to students receiving awards prior to commencement, seconded by *Dr.* Borchers. Motion approved with two no's.

4. Adjournment

By unanimous decision, the Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:45 pm.