NEW MEXICO INSTITUTE OF MINING AND TECHNOLOGY FACULTY SENATE MEETING

Friday, May 9, 2014 Workman 101 10:00 a.m.

MINUTES

- **1. Call to order -** President Richard Sonnenfeld called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.
- 2. Approval of the 2014 Graduates
 - D. Raymond called for an approval of the list of May 2014 graduates and S. Sessions seconded.

An error was discovered:

Sara R. Bryant and David Lee Butler were removed from the list of graduates.

- 3. Brief Announcements
 - **a.** Registrar Sara G. Faculty are to arrive around 8:30 tomorrow morning for commencement.
 - **b.** VPAA Summer salary, VPAA search M. Dezember Met with President and apprised him on what the Council of Chairs has sent in. Dr. Lopez wants to make a decision soon.

Summer and Part-time Instructor Salaries

Budget Committee and Shari M. worked diligently on coming up with something to bring forward to the Faculty Senate. Faculty Senate was trying to help with the very limited funding that we have for summer and part time budgets. Shari needed something to put into place for this summer so it seems that there was a sense of urgency getting it done this semester. Chair of Committee K. Minschwaner and Shari will work on breaking it down into two parts; the part time instruction and summer pay for our full time people. Pay for full time people this summer will stay 1/9 and won't change for this summer.

Enrollment Requirements for Part-time courses

Enrollment - Still going to require minimum enrollments in order to offer courses from adjunct faculty. Those enrollments won't apply to courses required for a degree program. Enrollment requirements to offer a course are subject to possible exceptions based on Academic Affairs review Sometimes we do let courses go and especially if they are required with less than the

enrollment. It's not the best for the budget but if it's best for our students then it's what we do.

Based on faculty input, salaries for adjuncts and summer instructors will NOT vary across discipline but be the same.

4. Old Business

a. Final Approval of Undergraduate Catalog Changes – *Dr. Dezember* Motion to approve undergraduate changes.

Many "Ayes", no "Nays", one abstention from faculty member who had not read the proposal.

b. Approval of Graduate Catalog Changes – Dr. Liebrock

There are two actual changes. One is an addition to the course catalog from Materials. It is a Biomedical Materials course.

Motion to approve the change by Dr. Burleigh. Motion passed unanimously.

Second change is co-listed courses that are listed as 400 and 500 have consistent wording with them that says "shares lectures with additional expectations for graduate credit."

Motion to approve by S. Sessions Motion passed unanimously.

Information: According to the Higher Learning Commission in five year MS/BS programs, the only course that can be dual counted (counted for the undergraduate and graduate degree) is one 3 credit graduate level course. Cannot double count any undergraduate courses. B. Borchers stated that when we set up five year programs, we typically set them up with a total number of credit hours less than 130 plus 30. The catalog doesn't state that they would have to take a graduate level course while they are still an undergraduate. L. Liebrock stated this will have to be fixed as it is a higher learning commission accreditation requirement that we will not violate. We will need to go through all of the wording of the different areas to fix them. I. Avramidi asked if every department has to review and fix the changes. L. Liebrock stated that the graduate office will go through and check all of them. Then each department will receive something from the graduate office proposing the change so that they can review before it goes through.

5. Brown Award -

A brief description of the Brown Award was read and the criteria for eligibility. Bachelor of Science degree – highest in scholarship, conduct and leadership.

Nominations from the floor: Isabel Louise McCoy - Dr. Raymond Joe Thomas Runnels - Dr. Zagrai Megan Marie Breiner - Dr. Heagy Kevin Alan Martin Ring - Dr. Burleigh

Discussion was held and the membership was shown the students' GPAs. Members spoke on behalf of each nominee before chair called for a vote. Vote was held by writing down one nominee.

Isabel Louis McCoy is the winner of the Brown Award

6. Cramer Award -

Engineering faculty recommendation came from K. Wedeward who recommended Veronica Saeger and Nicholas Davis.

Approval vote called for by Chair. Unanimously approved.

Veronica Saeger and Nicholas Davis are the Cramer Award recipients.

7. Langmuir Award –

Nominees Are:

Jesus Gomez nominated by Fred Phillips Saska Gjorgjievska nominated by Dr. Raymond Sonja Behnke nominated by Paul Krehbiel

Members spoke on behalf of each nominee before R. Sonnenfeld called for a vote. Vote was held by writing down one nominee.

Saska Gjorgjievska is the winner of the Langmuir Award.

8. Founders Award -

B. Stone read a brief description on the award. It is awarded to a student who graduates this year.

Lorie Liebrock nominated Alex Kent, PHD CS

Mark M. Nominated Jesus Gomez, PHD Hydrology David Grow nominated John Schlavin, MSME

Vote was held by writing it down

Jesus Gomez is the winner of the Founder Award.

Bill Stone made a motion to ask Academic Affairs Office to send letters to all candidates that did not receive an award, which was seconded by Lorie Liebrock.

8. Adjournment.

By unanimous consent the Faculty Senate adjourned at 11:18 a.m.