NEW MEXICO INSTITUTE OF MINING AND TECHNOLOGY

FACULTY SENATE MEETING

Tuesday, May 8, 2015 Workman 101 10:00 a.m.

Minutes

1. Call to order and approval of minutes

Chair Dave Raymond called the meeting to order at 10:05 am with a call for approval of the April 28, 2015 minutes.

Dr. Brian Borchers moved to approve the minutes, seconded by Dr. Kevin Wedeward. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Short announcements

1. Faculty Development – Bill Stone

The faculty development committee will be sponsoring workshops on proposal writing. The first meeting will be June 10, 2015 with a formal invitation to follow.

2. Contracts - Warren Ostergren

Academic contracts are due by May 15, 2015.

- **3. Senate Committee Reports** None.
- **4. Report of Council of Chairs** None.
- **5. Report of Graduate Council** None.
- **6.** Old Business None.

7. New Business

1. Approval of 2015 graduates

Sara Grijalva presented the May 2015 graduate list for conferral.

Sara Grijalva moved to approve this list, seconded by Dr. Lorie Liebrock. Motion passed unanimously.

Rachel Ann Reese was removed from the graduate list as she has not completed her thesis.

2. Honorary/posthumous degree

The family of Robert Cook and the family of Bryce McKenzie will accept their degrees at commencement.

3. Awards

Sara Grijalva announced that President Lopez increased the award limits this year.

Langmuir Award increased from \$200 to \$400 Founders' Award increased from \$400 to \$800 Brown Award increased from \$500 to \$1,000 Cramer Award increased from \$200 to \$400

An executive session was held where the senate approved these awards for the 2015 commencement.

Dr. Bill Stone made a motion to have Academic Affairs send out congratulatory notes to all students who were nominated that did not receive an award, seconded by Dr. Lorie Liebrock. Motion passed unanimously.

8. Discussion

9. Adjournment. By unanimous consent the meeting was adjourned at 11:13 am.