NEW MEXICO INSTITUTE OF MINING AND TECHNOLOGY

FACULTY SENATE MEETING Friday, May 13, 2016 Workman 101 10:00 a.m.

Minutes

1. Call to order and approval of minutes

Chair Dave Raymond called the meeting to order at 10:08 am with a call for approval of the April 5, 2016 minutes.

Dr. Brian Borchers moved to approve the minutes, seconded by Dr. Kevin Wedeward. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Short announcements

1. Nominating Committee - Mark Samuels

Dr. Mark Samuels announced that the Nominating Committee is looking for volunteers for committees. If you are terming out and would like to stay on a committee or if you would like to run as an officer, let Dr. Samuels know.

2. Budget & Research Committee - Ken Minschwaner

Dr. Ken Minschwaner reported that the budget and research committee were looking into how the endowment accounts were managed and how the investment income was distributed last year. All the accounts have been correctly adjusted and there is now a mechanism in place for continuing fiscal management of the endowment accounts.

3. Retirements - Peter Mozley

Dr. Peter Mozley announced that we have a number of soon to be retirements including key leaders of the university. These leaders have contributed a large amount of time to this body. Dr. Ostergren has spent 117 hours of his life participating in faculty senate, President Lopez has spent 232 hours, and Dr. Dave Raymond has spent 16 days. Other retirements were also announced.

4. Change of venue for rain – Sara Grijalva

Sara Grijalva announced that they are worried about a chance of rain for tomorrow morning at commencement. Faculty can watch the website in case commencement is moved to Macey Center. Commencement is scheduled for 9:00 am but there may be a delay if there is rain. If you don't hear anything report normal at 8:00 am on the lawn.

3. Approval of Degrees

Sara Grijalva presented the May 2016 graduate list for conferral.

Sara noted that there was a posthumous degree for Alexander Hernandez that was reviewed and approved by the Honorary Degrees and Awards committee.

Dr. Lorie Liebrock moved to approve this list, seconded by Dr. Sharon Sessions. Motion

passed unanimously.

4. Awards

- a. Langmuir Award
- b. Founders Award
- c. Cramer Award
- d. Brown Award

An executive session was held where the senate approved these awards for the 2016 commencement.

Dr. Bill Stone moved to have Academic Affairs send out congratulatory notes to all students who were nominated that did not receive an award, seconded by Dr. Lorie Liebrock. Motion passed unanimously.

- 5. Old Business
- 6. New Business
- 7. Discussion
- 8. Adjournment.

The meeting adjourned at 11:16 am by unanimous decision.